L for Liberty

…because liberty is not negotiable.

Christianity: Good or Bad for Mankind?

For the first time ever, a top Objectivist intellectual, Andrew Bernstein, debates a top Christian apologist, Dinesh D’Souza.

“New Atheists,” such as Christopher Hitchens, Daniel Dennett, and Michael Shermer, have debated Mr. D’Souza in the past, but their critiques of Christianity have been based on skepticism, subjectivism, relativism. Dr. Bernstein’s case against Christianity (and against religion in general) is grounded in Ayn Rand’s philosophy of Objectivism.

Enjoy the debate!

(via TOS)

My comment to the debate: I, myself, I am a former christian (though I never was a great believer, I´d call my beliefs today child beliefs) and today a (critical) student of Objectivism. So, I found it very interesting to hear the arguments from both sides. Both debaters made valuable points, especially in their opening speeches.

So, nice to see this debate which I like to share with our readers, but I think many important things were only superficially touched and I´d hope further philosophical debates about those importants arguments will be held in the future: the objectivist axioms (respectively metaphysics in general), the method of induction (an important epistemological principle d´Souza fails to grasp, seeing what he says about humans not knowing the speed of light centuries ago) and the- indeed!- bizarre claims of modern physics. I also missed a real debate about ethical principles, given the debate´s title. But nevertheless, a nice debate. Others will hopefully follow.

Februar 16, 2013 - Posted by | Christentum, Objektivismus, Video | ,

3 Kommentare »

  1. Kommentar von CK | Februar 16, 2013

  2. Interesting. Dinesh D’Souza remains a loon though.

    Kommentar von Grommel | Februar 17, 2013

  3. I never read anything from D´Souza, but according to Mister Bernstein, he wrote a pretty good book about „Education“ and also one about „What makes America great“. But after this debate, Bernstein was disappointed of him.

    Kommentar von CK | Februar 17, 2013


Kommentar verfassen

